top of page

La Boheme! Again! Again!

Crab Mousse with Bloody Mary sorbet

(Crab mousse, Bloody Mary Sorbet and Fish Cake)

Let me talk about one of my old favourite restaurants. La Boheme. Apparently the first time I ate in this restaurant I was 9 weeks old and did not exactly eat from the set menu. Back then it was nice and our go to for a 'fancy' meal out at birthdays and other celebrations. I believe it is where I tried my first medium rare steak too and never looked back. But recently, La Boheme has taken to soaring up the culinary achievement ladder whilst their prices stay reasonable and relatively inexpensive for the dining experience. The menu changes subtly each time we go and even though I usually find it difficult to deviate from my usual choices, there is often something to tempt me into the unknown, and this visit was no exception.

Pigeon Breast

(Roast Pigeon Breast with Shallot Purée, Black pudding and Game Chips)

For once my parents chose the same starter, a crab mousse with a bloody Mary sorbet and what I can only assume was a fish-cake seeing as I did not get to try any of it (main image). Well I tried the sorbet which was shockingly cold whilst having a true chilli heat kick and I found it just bizarre. I could not decide if I liked it or not but the whole plate went so I assume my parents liked it. Unfortunately both Mum and Dad found crab shell in their mousse so that was a little concerning but apparently not fully the kitchen's fault as the crab meat is brought in already shelled.

My starter I have whenever it is on and each time it does not disappoint. Beautifully roasted pigeon breast, this time on a sweet shallot purée with black pudding and 'game crips'. The black pudding was quite possibly the best i have ever tasted. Seriously, if the plate was just black pudding I would have been just as happy. I was not quite sure what made the crisps 'Game' crisps but they certainly had the savoury kick of gamey meat. And the jus that was drizzled over the whole dish was so tasty that it even tempted me to eat my arch nemesis; the asparagus!

(Duck Breast with lentils, roast veg and Duck Jus)

(Pork and Black Pudding with sauerkraut and Pork Gravy)

(Quail with Orange stuffing, cheese and potato balls, white pudding and orange gravy)

When I have come to write this I have become aware that despite taking the pictures, my Mum's main course of Veal has run off somewhere on my phone and I cannot find it. So please just rest assured that it looks brilliant and tasted heavenly.

My main was Quail with Orange stuffing and white pudding. I've never had quail and never had white pudding so it was an adventure I was thrilled to take. I soon discovered that Quail is a rather delicately flavoured bird and I could not help but feel that the, admittedly gorgeous, orange stuffing over powered it a little. I had to remove the stuffing to be able to taste the quail. It came with cheese and potato balls that were tasty if not capable of taking a little more cheese, but then I am a cheese fiend and everyone else will think there was plenty to start with. The white pudding just tasted of sausage and so I loved it, a lot less rich than its black pudding cousin but that could be from containing less of an irony ingredient. It was less crumbly too which made me think of sausage too, but I cannot deny that I can proudly say I like both black and white pudding now which is a personal achievement in itself.

My dad ordered the pork with black pudding, (I know, so much black pudding in one meal out!), which was absolutely divine. The pork was tender and so, so beautifully flavoured with the black pudding in the centre. I was only given one glorious mouthful on the premises that I try the sauerkraut. If, like me, you don't like cabbage and you don't like vinegar or pickles you wont like sauerkraut; trust me!

Moo ordered the duck with lentils and despite him not liking the lentils he certainly polished off the meat. The duck itself was lovely and pink without bleeding and the lentils were actually soaked in the duck juices so tasted lovely. Moo wasn't too keen on the texture, nor was mum so Dad and I snacked on them.

(Platter of Chocolate Desserts)

(Wild Berry tart with Vanilla Ice Cream)

(Tiramisu)

As usual, the desserts were spectacular. The only time I have ever been disappointed here was when a chocolate fondant was not liquid in the middle but it was quickly replaced with a gooey chocolatey delight. But that was not on the menu this time around. Instead I went for the special; a wild berry tart with vanilla ice cream. And i had no regrets. Even if the cream filling of the tart was a touch heavy, the clean and crisp, sweet berries and delicate ice cream was an excellent end to such a meaty meal.

Mum and Dad had identical puddings; the tiramisu. Expecting a layered cake of some kind we were all surprised to find that the different elements of a tiramisu had been separated and spread out. A crunchy almond biscuit and a shaped chocolate mousse was drizzled with a chocolate and coffee sauce. And it was the richest and most amazing tiramisu I had ever sampled. In brutal honesty I was a bit jealous, having considered the tiramisu myself and opted for the tart. The sauce was simply amazing, a deep coffee flavour, only kept from bitterness with semi-sweet chocolate. I am desperately attempting to replicate it at home to no avail. If you visit and this is on the menu DO NOT HESITATE TO GET THIS DESSERT!

Moo was practically gleeful when his dessert arrived, having ordered the chocolate platter, a selection of chocolate desserts. He was gifted with; chocolate ice cream in a chocolate tuile cup, a slice of chocolate pie, a shot of chocolate lassie and a freshly made profiterole. As if often the case with Matthew and chocolate desserts, I assume they were good because he promptly scoffed the lot and my hopeful spoon did not get a look in.

So once again I had a successful trip to La Boheme. I would highly recommend visiting La Boheme (it's in Lymm in case I forgot to mention) and I know I am very biased and love this restaurant to pieces but honestly, I am 99% sure you'll love it. And if your weird and have a bad time, there's a pub over the road so it's a win win really.

bottom of page